Two Love Forever

Now join your hands, and with your hands your heart - William Shakespeare

In order to be married in the State of Florida, you must purchase your license in the State of Florida. The license can be obtained at any courthouse in the State of Florida.  Your marriage by the Florida Notary Public or Minister is legal worldwide.

  • To be married in Florida you must have a Florida marriage license
  • A license from another State is not permitted
  • You DO NOT need a marriage license to renew your vows or for commitment ceremonies
  • Both parties must be 18 years of age or older.
  • If an applicant is 16 – 17 years of age, he/she must present a certified copy of his/her birth certificate and a notarized parental consent from BOTH parents.
  • NO blood test or physical exam is required.
  • The marriage license fee is $93.50 and some counties take cash only as their only method of payment.
  • A marriage license may be applied for in any county in the State of Florida during normal business hours. Their offices are NOT open on weekends or major US Holidays.
  • Both parties must be present and each party must have a valid photo identification such as a driver's license, state identification card, government or military identification card, or a passport.
  • US Citizens only: A social security number is required to obtain a marriage license; you don't need the card, just the number. If either party is from a foreign country and not a US citizen a valid passport is acceptable.
  • No Residency is required and there is No Waiting period for couples that do not live in Florida.
  • Florida residents only have a 3-day waiting period, unless a premarital course is taken. If you are NOT a Florida Resident, then you can get married the same day you obtain your marriage license.
  • Witnesses are not required to get married in Florida – just the Bride & Groom is fine!
  • If either party has been married previously, you will need to know the date the prior marriage(s) ended - no paperwork needed unless your divorced was recent (less than 3 months or so ago).
  • Couples are required by law to read a handbook supplied by the Clerk and sign a statement acknowledging that they have read the handbook before applying for the license. This can be done the same day as applying for the license.
  • Marriage license valid 60 days from the date issued

Can a Marriage Ceremony be performed without a Marriage License?
No, Florida Statute 741.08 states that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued marriage license before performing the ceremony.

 

For your convenience attached is the handbook prepared by the Florida Bar that details the rights and responsibilities of marriage.  All applicant must sign a sworn statement affirming that they have read this handbook.  You may obtain the affidavit at the court.

http://www.freewebs.com/2love4ever/MarriageHandbook.pdf

http://www.freewebs.com/2love4ever/Family_Law_spanish.pdf

To cut down on time download the Marriage License Application, fill it out and take to the county clerk house.  Please Note: both parties must be present with valid ID.

http://www.freewebs.com/2love4ever/Marriage License Application.pdf

Where to Apply

Duval County Courthouse - Downtown
330 E Bay St Room 101, Jacksonville, Fl 32202
904.630-1436 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M - F

Annex
1543 Atlantic Boulevard, Neptune Beach, FL
(in the Trade Winds Plaza)
904.270.1508 9:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. M - F

St. Johns County
Clerk of Court
St. Johns County Courthouse
4010 Lewis Speedway St. Augustine, FL
904.823.2333 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Annex
1721 Race Track Road (Julington Creek)
904.230.0107 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Annex
99 N. Palm Valley Road Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
904.285.5945 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Clay County
Clay County Courthouse
825 N. Orange Ave. Green Cove Springs, FL
904.269.6300 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F

Annex
1478 Park Ave. Orange Park, FL
904.278.4769 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F

Nassau County
Clerk of Court Nassau
County Courthouse
191 Nassau Place Yulee, FL
904.321.5705 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Annex
1943 Mickler St. Callahan, FL
904.879.2916 8:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

Marriage Licenses By Mail
Please contact any Florida Clerk of the Courts directly for any questions regarding obtaining a marriage license in Florida. For a list of ALL Clerk of the Courts County Offices though out the State of Florida, click here.